10T10. Cleveland Browns/Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco 49ers: 1946

Crystal LoGiudice/USA TODAY Sports Images

The current iteration of the Browns was not created until 1999, but the original version of the team was founded by businessman Arthur MacBride in the now-defunct All-America Football Conference. After the league folded, however, the Browns became NFL members in 1950. In their early years they were one of

football’s most dominant teams, winning the AAFC in four consecutive years from 1946-1949 and then the NFL Championship in 1950, 1954, 1955 and 1964. Since the creation of the Super Bowl, however, the Browns have never played in a championship game. In 1995, the original Browns franchise moved to Baltimore to become the Ravens, but left the Browns identity in Cleveland for the future expansion team. While the team is most closely associated with original coach Paul Brown and legendary running back Jim Brown, the team name is actually shortened form of Brown Bombers, the nickname of iconic boxer Joe Louis.

The 49ers were the first team in the four major sports leagues to play in the state of California, and were named after the 1849 California gold rush. Like the Browns, the 49ers were also originally an AAFC team, becoming a regular member of the NFL in 1957. Though the team was the first to win three consecutive division titles after the AFL-NFL merger, from 1970-1972, their greatest years came under coach Bill Walsh, quarterbacks Joe Montana and Steve Young and wide receiver Jerry Rice in the 1980s and early 1990s. During that era, the team won five Super Bowls from 1981-1994.

Next 9 Cleveland/Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams: 1937

More in Football