The Premium The Premium The Premium

Highest-Paid Political Leaders In The World

The Featured, World Money
Highest-Paid Political Leaders In The World

In 2010 Kenya’s prime minister, rejected the pay increase he was awarded by the country’s parliament. MPs had granted Mr Odinga a raise to nearly $430,000 a year, while giving themselves a 25% increase to $161,000. This boost placed Mr Odinga among the highest-paid political leaders in the world. More worryingly, his salary would be some 240 times greater than the country’s GDP per person (measured on a purchasing-power parity basis).

Lee Hsien Loong, the prime minister of Singapore, tops the list of selected leaders’ salaries. He is paid more than 40 times the city-state’s GDP per person. At the other end of the scale, Manmohan Singh, the prime minister of India, reaffirms his reputation for saintliness by taking a modest sum of US$4,106 annually from Indian taxpayers.

1.Lee Hsien Loong

Prime Minister Of Singapore

Annual Salary–  US$2,856,930 (S$3,870,000)

2.Donald Tsang

Chief Executive of Hong Kong

Annual Salary–  US$513,245

3.Raila Odinga

Prime Minister of Kenya

Annual Salary–  US$427,886

4.Barack Obama

President Of United States

Annual Salary–  US$400,000

5.Nicolas Sarkozy

President of France

Annual Salary–  US$345,423 (€240,000)

6.Stephen Harper

Prime Minister of Canada

Annual Salary–  US$296,400

7.Mary McAleese

President of Ireland

Annual Salary–  US$287,900

8.Julia Gillard

Prime Minister of Australia

Annual Salary–  US$286,752

9.Angela Merkel

Chancellor of Germany

Annual Salary–  US$283,608

10.Naoto Kan

Prime Minister of Japan

Annual Salary–  US$273,676

11.Jacob Zuma

President Of South Africa

Annual Salary– US$272,280

12.John Key

Prime Minister of New Zealand

Annual Salary– US$271,799

13.David Cameron

Prime Minister of United Kingdom

Annual Salary– US$215,390

14.Ma Ying-jeou

President of Taiwan(Republic Of China)

Annual Salary– US$184,200

15.Lee Myung-bak

President of South Korea

Annual Salary– US$136,669

16.Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono

President Of Indonesia

Annual Salary– US$124,171

17.Shimon Peres

President Of Israel

Annual Salary– US$120,814

18.Dmitry Medvedev

President Of Russia

Annual Salary– US$115,000

  • Ad Free Browsing
  • Over 10,000 Videos!
  • All in 1 Access
  • Join For Free!
Go Premium!