12 Greatest NBA Players Who Never Won a Championship

Whether it’s receiving a championship ring, holding the Larry O’Brien championship trophy, or hugging your teammates after the final game, winning an NBA championship is difficult and can leave emptiness in a career if not achieved. Winning the NBA Finals requires health, team chemistry, talent and luck. Even with all of these in place the ultimate ending can be elusive for a superstar, even a Hall of Fame caliber superstar.

There are many factors that can get in the way of winning a championship. Most importantly, the surrounding team needs secondary and third options, complimenting role players and must be well coached. Injuries that cause significant missed time or a shortened career reduces the championship window as well. Sometimes, everything is in place, but another team is just better. Or if you played for the Utah Jazz in the nineties, Michael Jordan was in the way. Call it what you want, but luck was not on the side of the Jazz during this period.

A couple honorable mentions before we get to our list of twelve. First, Kevin Durant should be mentioned. Durant is now in his prime and has made it to the NBA Finals (losing to Miami Heat); however, with the San Antonio Spurs in the same conference and injuries starting to take effect due to the wear and tear of long NBA seasons, Durant’s door may be closing. Could Durant become the Dan Marino of the NBA - a star that makes it to the big game early in his career, but never makes it back? Another, Dominique Wilkins, averaged 28 points per game from 1985 to 1994 (won the scoring title in 1986), appeared in 9 All-Star games and was one of the greatest dunkers of all-time. He never won a title.

This list covers mostly Hall of Fame caliber players and a couple on-the-fence future candidates. All were superstars in the league with awards, scoring titles and countless All-Star appearances to show for it. None won an NBA Championship. Here are the 12 greatest NBA players to never win a championship.

12 Chris Webber

Via daytondailynews.com

Webber never made it to the NBA Finals, his closest opportunity came in 2002 when his team, the Sacramento Kings, played the Los Angeles Lakers in the Western Conference Finals in 2002 and got screwed by the referees. From 1999 to 2002 Chris Webber was one of the best players in the NBA, peaking with averages over 24 points and 10 rebounds a game in 2002. Unfortunately the Lakers were in the middle of their Kobe Bryant/Shaquille O’Neal “dynasty” and the Kings never got another opportunity after 2002. Prior to 1999 and after the infamous Western Conference Finals, Webber was inconsistent and battled injuries. Webber may not make the Hall of Fame based on numbers alone and not having a title isn’t going to help his case.

11 Allen Iverson

10 Reggie Miller

Via indystar.com

9 Pete Maravich

If having a great nickname guaranteed a championship then “Pistol Pete” Maravich would have won 10 championships. That of course is not the case, retiring with zero NBA titles. Maravich was one of the offensive greats, a precision shooter and dynamic ball handler – even John Havlicek (known as the greatest ball handler of all time) said Maravich was the best of all time. Injuries and wrong team/wrong time played a role into an early retirement in 1980. He was youngest player ever inducted to the NBA Hall of Fame and named (by the Hall) “perhaps the greatest creative offensive talent in history.”

8 Tracy McGrady

7 Dikembe Mutombo

6 Steve Nash

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports Images

The two-time MVP Steve Nash was just never quite in the right place at the right time. With Dallas, Nash led a one-two punch with Dirk Nowitzki to build a team that would eventually win a championship, unfortunately it was after he was traded back to the Phoenix Suns, the team that originally drafted him. There he led the Suns to the Western Conference Finals (also won his two MVP awards in Phoenix), but didn’t advance to the Finals. Nash is now with Los Angeles Lakers, a team with a championship-littered past but also a variety of problems preventing the team from competing for the foreseeable future.

5 Bernard King

Via complex.com

King was part of a lot of terrible teams. During his run as a New York Knick, King averaged over 26 points and even won the scoring title in 1984-85. King’s offensive game wasn’t enough to win a title by itself. In fact, King’s teams rarely advanced in the playoffs. His best chance was in 1984 when the Knicks played the Boston Celtics in the Eastern Conference semifinals. King averaged over 34 points per game during the playoffs that year, but the team still fell short with no one to help him. King would never make it past the second round of the playoffs.

4 Patrick Ewing

There is actually a “Patrick Ewing Theory" invented by Bill Simmons (ESPN) with the notion that sometimes subtracting the focal point can have positive effects and a team will succeed more without it. Some of this is also based on bad luck. Ewing never even made it to the Finals; however, the year after he left New York, the Knicks would go to the Finals. Ewing was a dominant center that averaged over 20 points and over 10 rebounds his whole career. He was an annual All-Star, the core of the New York Knicks during the '90s. Why didn’t Ewing make it to the finals? You can always blame Michael Jordan. It was difficult to succeed in the East during the '90s.

3 Charles Barkley

Via goodgamebro.com

2 John Stockton/Karl Malone

Via history.com

The legacy of Stockton and Malone is like peanut butter and jelly and need to be discussed together. Both players were all-time greats at their position. Stockton played point guard and holds the record for most assists and steals. He was a ten-time NBA All-Star and the engine that ran the Jazz. Malone, a power forward,  spent 18 seasons with Utah, won two MVP awards, was a 14-time All-Star and was voted All-NBA first team 11 times. Stockton and Malone led the Utah Jazz to the NBA Finals twice, losing to Michael Jordan and the Bulls each time, resulting in Chicago’s fifth and sixth NBA Championships.

1 Elgin Baylor

Elgin Baylor led the Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers to 8 NBA Final appearances. Baylor’s teams won zero of those finals matchups. Baylor averaged over 27 points and 13 rebounds during his career. He played in 11 All-Star games and was an All-NBA first team selection 10 times. What was unfortunate for Baylor was that he played during Wilt Chamberlain’s scoring reign (no scoring titles) and the Boston Celtics’ title reign. No other player did more for their team and got less in return. In 1963 he finished the season as the first NBA player to finish in the top five in scoring, rebounding, assists and free-throw percentage. Had Baylor played during any other time he would have won at least a couple of rings.

More in Basketball